Authentic Northern Thai Food

Last month I took a picture of a Northern Thai curry that I ate at a chain restaurant in Bangkok: S&P. I wrote about the meal here.

On Sunday I ate a similar dish at a small restaurant on the soi that runs near the apartment: Soi Chanmuang. It was a smaller portion but just as tasty. Of course it was about one-third the price. Here are some pictures from Flickr.

Northern Thai Restaurant

The Curry

Northern Thai Restaurant

The Condiments

Northern Thai Restaurant

The Friendly Owners

I had the Canon EOS-30D with me and I had my version of the “Nifty Fifty” – the EF 50mm F2.5 Compact Macro. I think I should have stopped it down a bit and got a bit more of the food in focus. I am not very skilled at handling the small Depth of Field of a faster lens.

 

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Authentic Northern Thai Food”

  1. Michael Willems Says:

    I think they’re great!

    And don’t forget, it is a mix of “like shallow DOF” and “like low-light ability which leads to shallow DOF as a side effect”. Sometimes a bit more of the one, sometimes a bit more of the other.

Leave a comment