It Wasn’t My Eyes!

I found out why I could not focus properly on the moon last night. My Canon EOS-30D’s viewfinder was not adjusted properly.

It was obvious when I looked through the viewfinder at a passing helicopter the next day. I must have moved the adjustment wheel inadvertently. I’d forgotten it was there.

Here’s the page from the Canon EOS-30D User Guide:

Canon EOS-30D Dioptric Adjustment

Canon EOS-30D Dioptric Adjustment

Another thing I liked about my old Canon A-1 was that it had a little shutter to close the viewfinder window. It was good for tripod work. Canon have done away with it on their consumer cameras. I think the EOS-1D has one.

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “It Wasn’t My Eyes!”

  1. BKKPhotographer Says:

    We had a full moon over the New Year break. And yes it was bright. But it was too high in the sky for convenient photography from the apartment. I still need more practice.

Leave a comment