Google Alerts

Google AlertsAdd Google Alerts to the list of free Google services I’m using. Alerts are a way to find out if something you’re interested in shows up in a Google internet search.

I set up two alerts:

  • BKKPhotographer
  • My real name, in inverted commas.

So far I have not found anything interesting. My Flickr photostream uses my real name and there are thousands of pictures there so I get an alert if anybody links to one of them.

I share my name with an American soccer player so I get alerts about him too. It would be very strange to meet somebody with exactly the same name.

You can ask Google Alerts to send you email or to create a new item in Google Reader. I selected the latter. I still spend a lot of time using Google Reader.

Tags:

One Response to “Google Alerts”

  1. BKKPhotographer Says:

    I found out that there are 25 professionals called Ian Fuller on LinkedIn.

Leave a Reply

