Namebench

The Google Code site has a DNS Benchmark Utility to test if your DNS server configuration is really the best. You can read about it here.

I thought it would be good to test my use of Google Public DNS from my location in Bangkok, Thailand. It occurred to me that sending every request to servers that are most likely in the USA may not be the best for me.

And so it proved. I ran the test using a data source of all the sites in my Firefox history. I was surprised it contains over 47,000 domains.

Namebench told me that a Thai-based DNS Server called AsiaNet-2 TH is 27% faster than Google DNS.

Namebench Results. Click to see full size.

I decided to put that one as my primary DNS Server but use Google DNS as the secondary. Google DNS had a respectable performance. It seemed wise to have a backup server in a different location.

Don’t use these recommendations without testing yourself. My results in Bangkok with my ISP won’t be the same as yours.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

