I Confess

To a self-satisfied grin when I saw this headline on the British Daily Mail newspaper on sale on Sukhumvit Road yesterday.

Why Can't We Cope in the Snow?
“Why Can’t We Cope in the Snow?” indeed! I remember trudging in the snow to school, college, shopping and work when I lived in England. Trains stuck in the snow, road accidents, tripping and falling. It was all part of life every winter, and it still is. Every day I read of chaos on Eurostar and heavy storms on the East Coast of North America.

But here in Thailand there are lots of inconveniences and annoyances, but in the cool season the weather is perfect for me.

I’ve noticed many foreign tourists in Bangkok this year. Christmas week should be one of the best weeks of the season. I think tourists have forgotten about last year’s political chaos in Thailand and the closing of Bangkok’s airports. They’re coming for a warm holiday in the sun. At last Thailand is delivering.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

