A Slanted View

A Slanted View

Bangkok Apartments

A Slanted View

Waiting Tuk-Tuks

A Slanted View

Subway Passengers

A Slanted View

Subway Platform Leaning Right

A Slanted View

Subway Platform Leaning Left

A Slanted View

Visual Pollution on Sukhumvit Road

A Slanted View

Sukhumvit Road Traffic

A Slanted View

Sukhumvit Road Traffic

A Slanted View

Lunch Counter at Foodland

This post from Michael Willems’s Daily Photography Blog inspired me to consciously slant my camera when taking some pictures. I was out for a late lunch on the Sukhumvit Road in central Bangkok. I tried looking at the street scenes and people I see every day from a different perspective and took the six pictures above.

I posted them to Flickr. You can click on each of them to open a larger picture in a new window or tab.

I think some are more effective than others. I like the lunch counter and the colourful tuk-tuks the best. The latter may be polluting road hogs but they are photogenic.

Portrait mode does not work as well as landscape.

I did not crop or rotate the pictures in post-processing – they are framed as I shot them.

I won’t use this technique often – I find it is disorienting, especially when a number of slanted pictures are shown together. It’s interesting how the human eyes / brain need straight horizons for comfort. Maybe it is related to the causes of seasickness.

Let me know what you think.

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “A Slanted View”

  1. Michael Willems Says:

    Love them! Tuk-tuks and Sukhumvit especially. Love them.

    And um I hate you. Minus 12C here tonight. Grr! 🙂

Leave a Reply

