A Trip to the River

I got up too late to go to the seaside on Sunday. I did the next best thing and took the Skytrain to the river. The Chao Phraya River runs through Bangkok and is the coolest place to be on a hot day. Today wasn’t especially hot but the river breezes were still welcome.

I took the best river bargain available – a 3 Baht (about ten US cents) passenger ferry ride from Central Pier (Saphan Taksin Skytrain Station) to Thonburi side. I got great views of the river and the hi-so hotels on both sides. I’d forgotten how big the Shangri-La Hotel is.

The light was fading when I came back on the ferry. I was going to walk back over the bridge but I was lazy. I got this shot of one of the Chao Phraya River Express boats docking at the pier next to ours. My little Nikon Coolpix P6000 did a nice job and I think it is good example of “filling the frame”.

Chao Phraya River Ferry
I like the warm tones.

Tags: ,

One Response to “A Trip to the River”

  1. BKKPhotographer Says:

    This picture renders incorrectly in Google Chrome – the bottom half is not displayed. It is fine in Firefox and Internet Explorer. (All on the PC).

Leave a Reply

