I Don’t Like Video Training!

I never finished Chris Orwig’s Adobe Photoshop Lightroom 2 video training course. Weeks ago I said I would spend more time to get a fuller understanding of Lightroom’s Develop Module tools. But I never did.

I guess there are two types of people in the world – those who can learn from videos on their computers and those who prefer to read a book. I am in the second camp. I am old-fashioned and prefer to cuddle up with a good book – have it beside me when I am using the computer, take it to the WC with me and so on. Maybe one day I will get an e-book reader like the Kindle but for now I like paper.

I went to the what’s probably the biggest and most comprehensive bookshop (bookstore) in Thailand – Chula Books on Siam Square. The second floor mezzanine is devoted to English language books and tucked away in the corner are computer reference books. Chula Books isn’t great at organizing their books on the shelves and I found books on Photoshop and Lightroom scattered around everywhere with no logic.

Lightroom 2 GuideThere were also out of date books on Lightroom 1 – pretty useless these days. The only book I found on Lightroom 2 was “Adobe Photoshop Lightroom 2 : a digital photographer’s guide” by Davids Huss and Plotkin.

I don’t know if it’s the best book on Lightroom. I have seen high praise for Martin Evening’s book: The Adobe Photoshop Lightroom 2 Book: The Complete Guide for Photographers but Chula Books didn’t have it to compare. They will order books for you but it takes a while.

No matter, I spent some time with the Davids and now I am much more confident with Lightroom’s Develop Module. Now I need some practice.

The nearest Border’s bookstore is in Singapore. I used to enjoy browsing there. If you know a better bookshop for computer and photography books in Thailand please let me know!

Tags: ,

3 Responses to “I Don’t Like Video Training!”

  1. Michael Willems Says:

    Mmm. And what isn’t clear in the Develop module? I’ll blog post about it maybe.

  2. BKKPhotographer Says:

    Great idea!

    The things I had difficulty with (that is, I could not use them effectively by playing around in the software itself) were Graduated Filters and the Adjustment Brush.

    The book taught me stuff I wasn’t aware of but could get by without. For example the fact that the Histogram is interactive: you can use it to alter the image as well as summarize its colour distribution. Also you can use the Spot Removal tool + Sync Settings to remove dust spots from many pictures shot with the same camera / lens.

    Also concise explanations of the terms used in Develop (although they were familiar from my using ACR + Photoshop it was good to have a recap.). For example the difference between Vibrance and Saturation.

    Negative Clarity is not just something in the Tax Code.

    How to use the Detail tool intelligently and how it relates to the sharpening LR can apply at Export time. I am suspicious of the latter since you cannot preview the effects. Do you use the Sharpen at Export feature …

    That should be enough for a few tutorials, when you have time.

  3. Lightroom Crash Worries Me « Bkkphotographer's Blog Says:

    […] was using my newly acquired skills with the Lightroom Adjustment Brush to try “dodging” an over-exposed portion of a […]

Leave a Reply

