Thanksgiving Dinner in Bangkok – Where I Went

I ended up going to the excellent Queen Victoria Pub on Sukhumvit Soi 23. Despite its British theme they made a tasty fixed price American style meal: table d’hôte as they’d say on the E&O Express.

Of course it was not as extravagant as a five-star hotel or with unlimited portions as from a buffet but it was fine for my appetite. I can’t face American sized portions any more – and that must be good for my health.

The Queen Vic offered a set dinner for 365 Baht. According to my trusty Currency Converter that’s US$11. Here’s the menu:

I love the notion of “candid potatoes”.

When I arrived just past 8pm they only had three dinners left. Apparently Americans in Bangkok eat early. It was a good portion and well-cooked.

Thanksgiving Meal

The candid potatoes were actually roast.

The pumpkin pie was good too but I forgot to take a picture.

For me that’s better value than an all-you-can-eat buffet for 900 Baht or more. I’d go back next year.

The pictures from the Nikon Coolpix P6000 are not very good so I did not post them to Flickr – I’m a bit ashamed. They are good enough for this size but no larger.

Tags: , ,

3 Responses to “Thanksgiving Dinner in Bangkok – Where I Went”

  1. Michael Willems Says:

    That’s low light for you – but isn’t it much better to have the pictures than not to?

    You could have tried a little table tripod but they are fine as they are. As I was reading I was thinking “I hope he’s photographed dinner”, and I am glad you did!

  2. Mini Tripod « Bkkphotographer's Blog Says:

    […] By bkkphotographer I was disappointed with the quality of the picture I took of Thanksgiving Dinner. A slow lens and not much light overwhelmed the image stabilization of my Nikon Coolpix P6000. […]

Leave a Reply

