WordPress Annoyance – Embedded Slide Shows

I use Picasa Web to store a lot of my pictures. Many times I want to include them in a post in this blog. It is easy to link to pictures or to an entire album.

For example, here’s a link to some photos I took last year of the band at SuanLum Night Bazaar in Bangkok:

Suan-Lum Night Bazaar, Bangkok

But Picasa Web has another feature: you can embed a live Flash slide show of an album in a your blog. I wanted to do this for some pictures of Bang Sue Railway Station.

Picasa Web makes it as easy as possible with a screen that includes code you copy and paste into the HTML view of the post you’re writing.

It gives you some options for size, auto play and whether to include captions.

 

PicasaWeb SildeShow Embed

PicasaWeb SildeShow Embed

But WordPress.com does not permit that. You can paste the HTML into your page but the WordPress preprocessor strips it out without even a warning.

 

Similarly I tried embedding a search tool for aviation photos from the well-known site Airliners.net. But WordPress would not allow it. I’m surprised they trust me enough to embed simple links in my blog.

I know why WordPress.com does it. They want to be safe for both blog authors and viewers. There are so many cases of people using such embedding tools to distribute malware. I bet it even happens that an innocent blog author has been persuaded to embed something bad in her blog with disastrous consequences.

And of course WordPress.com is free so any bad person can sign up.

But still it is annoying for the huge majority of bloggers who are just trying to share information from one site to another. It’s sad when one big company (WordPress) cannot find a way to trust content and tools provided by another (Picasa Web is of course from Google). Surely they could work together to ensure that what I’ve embedded is a valid slide show?

Tags: , , ,

4 Responses to “WordPress Annoyance – Embedded Slide Shows”

  1. BKKPhotographer Says:

    Here’s another useful site that does not work in WordPress: http://www.imapflickr.com/

    This is getting tedious. I wonder if I can embed in my Google Site: https://bkkphotographer.wordpress.com/2009/11/03/my-google-site/

  2. BKKPhotographer Says:

    WordPress explain their allowed and disallowed HTML tags at http://en.support.wordpress.com/code/#html-tags

    It’s the usual “for security reasons” – i.e. everybody suffers because of the actions of a few. They talk about how all WordPress blogs run off the same software. If they are not careful one user has the potential to take down the entire site – I guess that means millions of WordPress blogs.

    That sounds like a major WordPress design issue to me. Software engineers learned years ago how to limit the damage an errant process can do. Virtual Machines for Java and so on.

    The WordPress approach is to create “shortcodes” for embedded features that they trust. That’s how Picapp and Google Maps embeds work. They could make more of them for Picasa Web and iMapFlickr since they can be trusted, surely.

    I expect there is a WordPress blog somewhere that users can submit suggestions.

    I have to remember, WordPress is free and overall they do a great job. But that kind of carefully worded excuse is annoying nonetheless.

  3. My Most Interesting Photos « Bkkphotographer's Blog Says:

    […] WordPress does not let you embed iMapFlickr maps in their blogs, but Google Sites does. So I created a page for this purpose. It’s here. […]

Leave a Reply

