50,000 Pictures in Lightroom

This evening I imported my 50,000th picture to my Lightroom 2 Catalog (database). That’s a year’s photography.

Lightroom 50000 Photos

Lightroom 50,000 Photos

Much to my surprise Lightroom didn’t burst into flames or otherwise have a meltdown. There’s an old joke about an undocumented IBM S/360 opcode: HCF – halt and catch fire.

I was heartened by the fact that Jeff Friedl told me he has over 77,000 photos in a single catalog.

I’d love to know what database tweaking Adobe did / plan on Lightroom 3 to improve its scalability.

Tags: , , ,

4 Responses to “50,000 Pictures in Lightroom”

  1. Michael Willems Says:

    Ditto, 50k in a year. And it works fine, but I too await speed increases in v.3..

    HCF, I like that. I was offered a working S/360 about ten years ago. Should have bought it and put it in my basement, fully working, drives, control panels with lights, and all. That would have been fun… oh well.

    • BKKPhotographer Says:

      Are you a Mac person or a PC person?

      Re the S/360: you’d have dimmed the lights in the neighbourhood when you booted it. “IPL” was the IBM term wasn’t it? Initial Program Load. I remember the IBM mainframe world had a vocabulary of its own. Abend, DASD, JCL and so on.

  2. BKKPhotographer Says:

    This is worrying. From http://www.scottkelby.com/blog/2009/archives/7180
    “10 Things I Would Tell New Lightroom Users”.

    “(9) It’s OK to have multiple Catalogs
    You don’t have to keep everything in just one catalog—-you can create as many catalogs as you want (and you might want to create multiple catalogs if you’re going to have more than 40,000 or 50,000 images in one catalog). For example, I have separate catalogs for portraits, for family photos, for travel photos, for sports photos, for weddings, and so on. I know a wedding photographer that creates a brand new fresh catalog for every wedding he shoots. He likes the speed and cleanliness of of a fresh catalog with nothing it in but the photos from that one particular wedding. Creating a new fresh, empty catalog is easy—just go under the File menu and choose New Catalog (don’t worry—it doesn’t erase your old catalog—it just saves and closes it). To open one of your previously open catalogs, just go under Lightroom’s File menu and choose Open Recent.”

    No! I want LR to scale so I can store every photo I have ever taken or am likely to take in one Catalog!

    Now he’s got me thinking of the HCF opcode again.

    • BKKPhotographer Says:

      I put a comment to this effect on Scott’s blog at http://www.scottkelby.com/blog/2009/archives/7180/comment-page-1#comment-184102

      “Scott: you got me worried in tip #9 when you said “you might want to create multiple catalogs if you’re going to have more than 40,000 or 50,000 images in one catalog”. The way I work I need to refer back to pictures I took years ago. 50,000 images is about 1 years work for me.

      My vision is to have one Lightroom catalog for every “keeper” picture I have ever taken or will take. I am thinking in terms of upwards of 600,000 pictures in a catalog. That’s assuming I have enough disk space and processing power.

      I want to be able to archive them but still be able to search on metadata and view small thumbnails. Then LR will prompt me to load the correct DVD if I need the full sized image.

      That’s my vision of a “professional” product.

      We have the database technology and processor power. Terabyte drives are common. So I do not see a technology hurdle.

      I am praying that Adobe will enhance Lightroom’s scalability faster than I can fill its catalogs.

      Am I alone in having this view?”

Leave a Reply

