Lighroom 3 Video Tutorials

My Nikon Coolpix P6000 takes very noisy photos over 400 ASA. Adobe Photoshop Lightroom 3 has improved Noise Reduction in its recent Beta release.

I wanted to try it out. Here’s one of the pictures I took at Bangkok’s Hua Lamphong Railway Station a few nights ago. It’s a noisy mess at 1600 ASA.

 

An Alstholm ALS diesel locomotive at the head of a recently arrived train at Hua Lamphong Station.

An Alstholm ALS diesel locomotive at the head of a recently arrived train at Hua Lamphong Station.

 

Lightroom 3 Beta presents a new panel in its Develop Module to control Noise Reduction. Here’s a screenshot with the locomotive photo loaded.

 

Lightroom 3 Noise Reduction

Lightroom 3 Noise Reduction

 

The tool gives me three sliders:

  • Luminance
  • Color
  • Edge detail

Each can be varied 0 – 100.

I could play with them and see what improvements I can find. But I thought I’d try doing things the “right” way and read the documentation.

I don’t think there is yet any written documentation for the Beta. But there are some video tutorials on the Adobe Photoshop Lightroom 3 Beta Learning Center web site. And yes, there’s one from Matt Klosowski on “Improved Noise Reduction”.

BUT …

My internet connection speed to the USA from Bangkok is very slow, especially in the evenings. I could not get the Flash video to download and play. Here’s the display after waiting about an hour.

 

Waiting for Video

Waiting for Video

 

I’m sure in the States everybody has a good connection, but here in Thailand it is a common problem. I am sure I miss a lot of good stuff because sites like You Tube are so frustrating.

I’ll see if it downloads if I ignore it for a while. Hopefully my browser will cache it and I can view it without pauses.

I’ll write another post on my experiences with the tool. I don’t think there is much to reveal if I just fiddle with it randomly.

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Lighroom 3 Video Tutorials”

  1. bkkphotographer Says:

    The 4 minute video took about 4 hours to download. But when I clicked to play it again it restarted the download from the beginning!

    I guess it has some setting to prevent the PC from caching it.

    So that means effectively I cannot watch those videos. My internet connection is quick enough for text and uploading small files but streaming video is a pain.

    I’ll try and download it again in the morning when the Thai internet is quicker.

  2. BKKPhotographer Says:

    There’s an excellent tutorial on LR 2 noise reduction on the X Equals blog at http://x-equals.com/blog/?p=3481

    For once an author took the trouble to write English rather than merely throwing a video together like so many “teachers” these days.

    I should get familiar with the LR 2 tools before I look at the LR 3 beta. The tutorial mentions the LR 3 improvements.

Leave a Reply

