Canon Picture Styles – Interesting Discussion

I meant to write a post in this blog about Canon’s Picture Styles, my limited understanding of them but how I relate them to my workflow. However, Michael Willems knows far more than I do so we are having an interesting discussion here.

So far I have learned more than I did by reading Canon’s online documentation here.

It’s a confusing subject and I made things worse for myself by trying to relate them to the adjustments I can make in Lightroom. Lightroom has to be a level playing field for all digital cameras so it does not handle them directly, but emulates them. And that’s where my brain starts to hurt!

If you are interested in learning more take a look at the discussion on Michael’s blog.

I thought Canon were going to invest more heavily in Picture Styles. For example they talked of releasing more on their web site for particular applications.

They released seven “extended function” styles in 2007 to augment the standard ones shipped with each camera and on Canon’s Digital Photo Professional (DPP) software. However nothing’s been released since.

I thought there would be an opportunity to extend the concept further. For example releasing styles that explicitly model traditional film types. I guess the development team were assigned to a different project after the Picture Style concept was embedded in all Canon DSLRs and in DPP.

Tags: ,

7 Responses to “Canon Picture Styles – Interesting Discussion”

  1. Michael Willems Says:

    I would neversay I know more – but I do have some experience, sure. And sin cether eis no “right” or “wrong” to these features and how to use them, all opinions are valid. Come share yours, here or on my blog.

  2. Michael Willems Says:

    Oh – and I agree about the film thing. I want a Velvia profile, a Kodachrome profile, etc. 🙂

  3. Michael Willems Says:

    Plus, these companies live in their own world. Even if it reduces their profits too.

    • BKKPhotographer Says:

      Unfortunately the DSLR makers have not encountered any truly disruptive technology that forces them to re-think there businesses.

      I used to work in the comfortable proprietary mini-computer organization of Hewlett-Packard. We had a similar attitude about our technology and the software we wrote.

      Then along came UNIX and the PC and it turned our world upside down. We had to change or die.

      Nothing like that has happened in the DSLR world. The successful companies who transitioned from film kept about the same culture and a distant proprietary interface with their customers. See See https://bkkphotographer.wordpress.com/2009/09/03/delighting-you-always/.

      Maybe at the low end customers are using their cell phone cameras rather than a point-and-shoot. That’s disruptive. But in the professional world – who’s doing to disrupt Canon and Nikon?

      Actually I had hopes that Sony might be a change agent when they entered the DSLR market, but that was naive of me.

  4. Michael Willems Says:

    I see inks from this page to my site. I presume you all know that sadly, Ian unexpectedly passed away a few months ago.

Leave a Reply

