Beautiful Bangkok Morning

Bangkok Morning from the Apartment
It’s a lovely Sunday morning in Bangkok. The sky is clear and it isn’t too hot or humid. I took some photos out of the window using the Nikon Coolpix P6000’s “Landscape” mode. That reminded me on a minor annoyance in Lightroom 2. I wanted to see if Adobe have fixed it in the Lightroom 3 Beta.

No, they haven’t, but it probably isn’t their fault.


With my Canon EOS-30D, if I take a photo in one of the camera’s preset modes: “Action/Sports”, “Closeup”, “Landscape” or “Portrait” this setting shows up in the “Exposure Program” field of the EXIF information as displayed in Lightroom.

But Lightroom 2 and 3 Beta both show Exposure Program Normal for the Nikon Coolpix P6000.

I assume this is because Nikon store this information in a non-standard format and Adobe don’t extract it from the file.

I checked my old Canon EOS-300D in Landscape mode. Lightroom 2 does not display an EXIF Exposure Program setting at all.

That may mean that the storage of this information in the EXIF is not standard and Adobe made a special case for the EOS-30D.

I tried searching my pictures for those taken in Landscape mode using Lightroom’s filters. It isn’t a standard filter and it does not work if I set up a text filter on “Searchable Metadata” or “Searchable EXIF” for the string “Landscape”. that’s a bit inconvenient. I’d like to be able to do that.

I tried it in both version 2 and version 3 with the same result. The fact that Adobe use the term “searchable” implies that some EXIF (and IPTC) fields are not searchable.

The problem is obviously not simple. My current guess is that “Exposure Program” is an enumerated type rather than a string and each manufacturer encodes it differently.

I know “serious photographers” don’t use these scene modes at all. On Canon cameras, for example, you cannot shoot in Raw if you use a programmed mode. I am a pragmatist. I’ll use whatever it takes to get the picture I want. I do draw the line at what I think are silly modes like “Food“.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

