I’m Not a Video Person


The Adobe Photoshop Lightroom 3 Learning Center already has a load of short videos on the new and revised features of Lightroom 3.

Trouble is, I am not keen on learning by video – I much prefer a book or paper. Also the Internet is so slow here in Bangkok that it is a pain to try and watch / listen to anything streaming.

It is better to download the file and play it later. But that isn’t always permitted.

The online Help for the Lightroom 3 Beta isn’t up yet so these videos may be the only documentation available.

I guess I am showing my age by preferring something I can read to something that I can watch / listen to. I haven’t been enthused enough to listen to the rest of Chris Orwig’s Lightroom 2 Training for that reason. Chris speaks so fast it’s sometimes hard for me to keep up and pausing / rewinding / playing the video is a pain. With reading I set my own pace.

Video’s the current trend so I’ll have to run with it. I should look at the video on the Grain Tool since I used it with zero information yesterday.

Tags: ,

3 Responses to “I’m Not a Video Person”

  1. BKKPhotographer Says:

    At http://www.lightroomkillertips.com/2009/video-tip-the-missing-filter-options/ Matt admits what I suspected but was too polite to say: making a video is often easier for the author than writing things out in a document or tutorial.

  2. I Don’t Like Video Training! « Bkkphotographer's Blog Says:

    […] – those who can learn from videos on their computers and those who prefer to read a book. I am in the second camp. I am old-fashioned and prefer to cuddle up with a good book – have it beside me when I am […]

  3. HD Video & Digital Cameras – Dpreview.com « Bkkphotographer's Blog Says:

    […] have written before that I am not a video person. But this is a very useful and timely beginner’s guide to the video capabilities of the […]

Leave a Reply

