WordPress Does Not Search Comments

I just found out that if I use the search box on my blog WordPress does a great job of searching all the posts. But it does not seem to search the comments attached to them.

I saw that Barnes & Noble have announced their eBook reader – the Nook. I recalled that I’d posted something about it but could not remember where. I tried searching for “Barnes & Noble” or just plain “Barnes” but WordPress found nothing.

Then I remembered I mentioned it on a comment to a post about the Kindle reader. I searched for “Kindle” and soon found it.

I guess it is a load more work for WordPress to index comments but I was a little bit disappointed.

Now of course this post will appear when I search for “Barnes”.

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “WordPress Does Not Search Comments”

  1. BKKPhotographer Says:

    I noted in a comment to https://bkkphotographer.wordpress.com/2009/11/01/hippy-van-in-bangkok/ that the van may have been made in Brazil.

    As expected, WordPress did not find any posts on the search term “Brazil”.

    I added a Tag Brazil to the post using the Dashboard.

    Surprisingly WordPress continued to be unable to find anything using that search term.

    I don’t understand!

  2. BKKPhotographer Says:

    See http://www.nytimes.com/2009/12/10/technology/personaltech/10pogue.html for a great demolition of the Nook’s marketing hype by David Pogue.

Leave a Reply

