Strange Firefox Errors

Most of the time Mozilla Firefox is a very reliable and fast web browser. So I was very surprised to see this error dialog box pop up on my screen.

Firefox Addons May Be Causing Problems

Firefox Addons May Be Causing Problems

I don’t know what the Windows Presentation Foundation is and I have never knowingly installed it. It sounds like a Microsoft product. I clicked on the “More Information” link and got something even more confusing:

This Connection is Untrusted

This Connection is Untrusted

This seems to be some sort of localization failure. I think I told Firefox (or maybe Windows XP) that I use British English. So it was having trouble checking access to the GB version of mozilla.com. That’s Firefox’s own maker!

The warnings were ambiguous but worrying so I decided to take the “Get me out of here!” option. I feared it could have been some fiendishly clever spoofing attack and en-gb.www.mozilla.com is a bad site. It does look like a strange address.

I tried “More Information” a second time with the same result.

I restarted Firefox as it requested to disable the Windows Presentation Foundation and everything seems to be working okay.

Another proof, as if more was needed, that computers in general and PCs in particular are far too complex. Why did Firefox need a secure http (https) connection to show me that information in the first place?

Tags: , , , ,

3 Responses to “Strange Firefox Errors”

  1. BKKPhotographer Says:

    I found an explanation at http://voices.washingtonpost.com/securityfix/2009/10/mozilla_disables_microsofts_in.html?hpid=news-col-blog

    What a mess!

  2. Firefox Addons – Google Wave Says:

    […] Designers and Developers …FoxyProxy Basic Firefox Addon Brings More Than Others ! | vhxn.comStrange Firefox Errors « Bkkphotographer's BlogRelated posts on GoogleVideo: Google Voice does translation too – in a wayMaking a Google Wave […]

  3. BKKPhotographer Says:

    November 5th, 2009 was Firefox’s fifth birthday: http://www.spreadfirefox.com/5years/en-US/

Leave a Reply

