Picapp Picture Sizes

A kind commenter alerted me to the possibility of eliminating the distracting filmstrip at the bottom of pictures from Picapp by resizing the picture.

Note: I don’t object to the filmstrip as such. Picapp deserves to make money from their integration with WordPress and the benefits it gives me. I believe they need to come up with a way to link to their site without obscuring the bottom of the picture I am posting. I’ll happily “give” them more vertical space if they want to put the filmstrip below the picture.

I thought I’d use some appealing photos for the test so I searched Picapp for “Thai fashion model”. Thailand has a big modeling industry and many of the models are gorgeous.

Sadly Picapp only returns twelve pictures and several of them are nothing to do with Thailand.

I thought this picture was the nicest:

NEW YORK – SEPTEMBER 9: Model Thais Oliveira reads The Daily backstage at the Tommy Hilfiger Spring 2006 fashion show during Olympus Fashion Week at Bryant Park September 9, 2005 in New York City. (Photo by Frazer Harrison/Getty Images)

But she’s not Thai!

Size 396 x 594

[picapp src=”9/b/d/5/Tommy_Hilfiger_2006_ea48.jpg?adImageId=5443929&imageId=6353556″ width=”396″ height=”594″ /]

380 x 570

[picapp src=”9/b/d/5/Tommy_Hilfiger_2006_ea48.jpg?adImageId=5443929&imageId=6353556″ width=”380″ height=”570″ /]

234 x 351

[picapp src=”9/b/d/5/Tommy_Hilfiger_2006_ea48.jpg?adImageId=5443929&imageId=6353556″ width=”234″ height=”351″ /]

All three of the offered sizes show the filmstrip at the bottom. Fortunately it isn’t distracting in this picture. There must be a minimum width below which Picapp does not show the filmstrip.

I tried my own resize by editing the Picapp tag manually. I used to be a programmer – I know how to do this!

152 x 228

[picapp src=”9/b/d/5/Tommy_Hilfiger_2006_ea48.jpg?adImageId=5443929&imageId=6353556″ width=”152″ height=”228″ /]

150 x 225

[picapp src=”9/b/d/5/Tommy_Hilfiger_2006_ea48.jpg?adImageId=5443929&imageId=6353556″ width=”150″ height=”225″ /]

It looks like if the width is less than or equal to 150 then Picapp will show the less distracting button.

I don’t see this as a proper solution. I like bigger pictures, but it is good to know where a small picture will work.

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Picapp Picture Sizes”

  1. BKKPhotographer Says:

    I posted a message to Picapp suggesting they put the filmstrip below the picture. See http://getsatisfaction.com/Picapp/topics/can_you_move_the_filmstrip_below_the_picture

  2. BKKPhotographer Says:

    I just discovered you can hide the filmstrip by clicking on the small arrow on its right. That’s useful, but I would still be happier with it below the picture.

Leave a Reply

