I Know Where I Am, But I’m Still Lost

I don’t have a good sense of direction. I get lost easily in my explorations of Thailand and with few people who speak English and many road signs only in Thai this can be a challenge.

Fortunately taxis are cheap and abundant, so I can always give in and take a taxi. Also Bangkok is a remarkably safe city from muggings and street crime so I’ve never felt in any danger.

BUT, even if I am lost my camera knows exactly where I am. The Nikon Coolpix P6000 has integrated GPS and most of the time it is remarkably accurate.

GPS Screen for the Nikon Coolpix P6000

GPS Screen for the Nikon Coolpix P6000

But a Lat / Long pair is useless to me. No Bangkok street map I have seen includes a Lat/Long grid.

I don’t want to carry a separate GPS device and I don’t have a smart phone that has built-in GPS and a mapping application to use the results.

It’s frustrating, but I cannot imagine Nikon extending their GPS equipped cameras to be a navigation tool.

Tags:

3 Responses to “I Know Where I Am, But I’m Still Lost”

  1. hkkbs Says:

    There are mobiles with built in GPS. Nokia have some with real GPS-chips. Some mobiles here in Europe works with A-GPS. Don’t know if you have A-GPS in Thailand which works with the help from mobile antenna transmitter towers to give the mobile the position.

    I tried a small car GPS in Rome, it has a inbuilt battery for 4 hours. It was rather good. It was an Garmin 1250. I was really happy with it.

  2. BKKPhotographer Says:

    I don’t think we have A-GPS here.

    My point was that the P6000 tantalizes me with my precise lat/long position but I cannot use it. I need another device.

    I think the GPS devices today are pretty good. But a lot depends on the quality of the maps loaded into the device. I don’t think Thailand is mapped as well as Western countries. I’d like to try somebody’s system before I make the investment: it’s impossible to return stuff here.

  3. Nikon Camera GPS Patent Application « Bkkphotographer's Blog Says:

    […] mention this one because it looks like Nikon is thinking the same way I was when I lamented here that my camera can show me where I am, but I am still lost. It’s some evidence that Nikon is […]

Leave a Reply

