Picapp Annoyances

I searched Picapp for a picture of a Canon camera for a blog entry I was writing.

This is all I got under the “creative” category:

[picapp src=”0138/fe5a612e-1118-44af-80c1-ed7cde04b280.jpg?adImageId=4764774&imageId=141711″ width=”500″ height=”276″ /]

That’s a cannon – not a Canon!

Searching “editorial” got me lots of pictures of Maria Carey. I don’t know why.

There were also pictures of the Calder Cannons Australian Football team.

[picapp src=”2/f/8/f/TAC_Cup_Final_1e30.jpg?adImageId=4765234&imageId=6616144″ width=”500″ height=”380″ /]

Searching for “Canon camera” wasn’t much better. At least Daveigh Chase has a Canon camera round her neck. (Not that you can tell, but the caption says so.)

[picapp src=”0/b/c/7/Daveigh_Chase_HBOs_b08f.jpg?adImageId=4765354&imageId=6089211″ width=”500″ height=”750″ /]

There was nothing under “creative” for “Canon camera”.

It all goes to prove my point – keywords are pretty useless for searching. Partly because people can’t spell, and partly (my pet peeve) because they are typeless.

My second beef is that the “related pictures” strip under the picture when Picapp displays the picture on the blog often obscures part of the picture. Can’t it appear below the picture?

Tags: , ,

11 Responses to “Picapp Annoyances”

  1. Michael Willems Says:

    She has a G9 or G10 – that’s a great camera!

  2. BKKPhotographer Says:

    Yes. I almost bought one as my carry-everywhere camera. But I was seduced by the GPS capability of the Nikon Coolpix P6000. I have a love-hate relationship with it.

  3. ileaneb Says:

    Hi bkkphotographer,

    I sympathize with you and your annoyance with the tags in PicApp. I sent an email to complain about it and the image I was looking for was simply “crowds”. If we WordPress bloggers send enough complaints to PicApp maybe we’ll see some improvements.

    I also found another WordPress.com blogger that can help solve the problem with removing the filmstrip from the image on your post. Here is the link to Romy’s post: http://romycayabyab.wordpress.com/2009/10/11/why-i-dont-want-to-use-picapp-images-in-my-blog/
    The solution is to resize the image.

    Thanks for the post, I’m glad that I am not alone…

  4. BKKPhotographer Says:

    I’ll send email to Picapp too. It’s a great idea and I support them. I hope they’ll appreciate the feedback.

    I think keywording for stock is different that the keywording I do for personal use. So I understand that they’ll have a lot of keywords about the format or colours in the pictures. Still there’s no excuse for labeling a cannon as a Canon.

    Thanks for the tip on resizing the pictures. I have no objection to the filmstrip but it should not hide part of the picture i am showing.

  5. BKKPhotographer Says:

    I sent Picapp a suggestion to let users refine the keywords on their pictures.

    http://getsatisfaction.com/Picapp/topics/picapp_could_let_customers_refine_keywords

    Actually, Picapp may not control the keywords. They get the pictures from third parties – e.g. Getty Images.

  6. ileaneb Says:

    Great idea! I added a “like” on Get Satisfaction” and I tweeted the idea.
    Thanks!

  7. BKKPhotographer Says:

    One more annoyance – the Picapp site has become very slow. The rest of my Internet Experience (sic) tonight has been great but Picapp has been like molasses. Maybe it is getting too successful for its own servers.

    My posts feel naked without a picture of some sort so when I write something that doesn’t have one of my photos I always search Picapp for something relevant.

  8. BKKPhotographer Says:

    Picapp did fix the intrusive filmstrip annoyance. Now it is a subtle button graphic at the bottom left. Unfortunately it may be too subtle and many will miss it. They can’t win!

  9. Site Performance « Bkkphotographer's Blog Says:

    […] could be related to problems with the pictures I include on almost every post. I have noticed that Picapp has been very slow […]

  10. BKKPhotographer Says:

    Picapp MAY be responsible for my slow Site Performance numbers as shown by Google Webmaster tools. But it may not so I’m not pointing virtual fingers.

    See https://bkkphotographer.wordpress.com/2009/12/19/site-performance/

Leave a Reply

