Entry Level Leica – The X1

Leica X1

Leica X1 Hands on Preview: Digital Photography Review.

We are getting some early information about the new Leica X1. Dpreview.com have a “hands on preview” (“hands on” being a very British phrase: you never see it in American publications).

Leica must have made Dpreview promise not to publish test pictures as the camera is not production ready yet.

Like many photographers I have always wanted a Leica but they have remained out of reach of my budget. The X1 is predicted to sell for US$2,000 including the lens (naturally, since it is not changeable.)

I thought whether I would get this camera. My initial thought is “no” – I should wait until I can afford the M9 with its interchangeable lenses. Part of the attraction of the Leica is the selection of high quality lenses.

Doubtless the 35mm (equivalent) Elmarit lens is the highest quality but you are still losing a lot of flexibility.

The other issue is the lack of a viewfinder. The photographer must compose her pictures on the display screen. Part of the Leica mystique is the rangefinder design.

I wonder what Chris Weeks would say about it?

Perhaps I’ll change my opinion when the camera is released and Dpreview publish sample images (including London’s Tower Bridge naturally).

There isn’t much on Leica at Picapp. Here’s one picture:

[picapp src=”5/e/1/d/59th_Venice_Film_8690.jpg?adImageId=4735875&imageId=4674672″ width=”397″ height=”594″ /]

VENICE, ITALY – SEPTEMBER 4, 2002: Director and photographer Raymond Depardon poses with a Leica camera at a photo call during the 59th Venice Film Festival September 4, 2002 in Venice, Italy. Depardon is in Venice to present his film ‘Un Homme Sans L’occident.’ (Photo by Pascal Le Segretain/Getty Images)
Content © 2009 Getty Images All rights reserved.

Picapp has some period pictures taken with a Leica like this

[picapp src=”7/d/a/7/Thirsty_Sailor_c241.jpg?adImageId=4736433&imageId=2358752″ width=”391″ height=”594″ /]

You can look at more by clicking on the photo.

Tags: , ,

6 Responses to “Entry Level Leica – The X1”

  1. Michael Willems Says:

    I owuld love a Leica – but only the $9,000 variety. Waah!

  2. BKKPhotographer Says:

    Have you ever used a “classic” (film) Leica?

    I am very tempted to search the second-hand camera shops in Bangkok for one. Perhaps I’ll find a bargain.

    Then I will have to find a good source for film and processing. I’m sure they exist but off the beaten (tourist) track in Bangkok.

  3. BKKPhotographer Says:

    Now Dpreview have published some sample images. See http://wp.me/pxKnp-Gy.

  4. Leica X1 Preview Samples Gallery on Dpreview.com « Bkkphotographer's Blog Says:

    […] I first wrote about the X1 almost a month ago here I noted that although they had a “hands on” experience with the camera Dpreview did not […]

  5. Michael Willems Says:

    Yes, the X1 looks OK, but I;d still hold out for what I cannot afford: the $9,000 version. Or indeed an old film one – just for fun.

  6. BKKPhotographer Says:

    Dpreview.com have published a full review at http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/LeicaX1/page11.asp

Leave a Reply

