Camera Prices in Thailand

Camera Prices in Thailand

Bangkok Camera Prices

I did a quick, unscientific price comparison of popular cameras sold in Thailand, the USA and England. My prior impression was that Thailand is a very expensive place to buy electronics due to high import taxes.

For Thailand I chose the EC Mall retail store at Fortune Town Mall near my home. I understand it is an official dealer, but I think they stock some grey-imports too. I saw some Japanese-language boxes in the window.

I did an internet price comparison with Amazon.com for the USA and Jessops.com in England.

I checked the prices of the following cameras listed on the EC Mall sign above:

Canon EOS-50D body
Canon EOS-450D kit, 18-55 IS
Canon EOS-500D kit, 18-55 IS
Canon Powershot G10
Canon Powershot SX200 IS
Canon IXUS 95 IS / IXY 110 IS
Canon IXUS 100 IS / IXY 210 IS
Canon IXUS 110 IS / IXY 510 IS
Nikon D3000 kit, 18-55 VR
Nikon D5000 kit, 18-55 VR
Nikon D90 kit, 18-105 VR
Nikon D300s body
Panasonic Lumix DMC-FX40/48
Panasonic Lumix DMC-ZS3/TZ7
Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ35/38
Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX3

As I expected, Amazon.com (USA) was cheaper than Thailand by an average of 10%. But Jessops.com (UK) was an average of 20% more expensive than Thailand.

Perhaps the UK has both high import duties and higher VAT. It is 7% in Thailand. Amazon.com generally does not charge sales tax.

I ignored the cost of shipping and handling when I got the Internet quotes but I made sure i was comparing like with like. I wonder why manufacturers use different model identities in each market. The EC-Mall sign lists both the US and the European identities.

The Canon EOS-450D was not available new from Amazon.com.

Incidentally, I asked about the Canon EOS-7D. EC Mall did not know when it would be available here through Canon (Thailand).

You can download a  PDF file of my price comparison spreadsheet here. As they always say in England,  E&OE: “Errors and Omissions Excepted”.

Given that if I buy a camera in the US I won’t get warranty service in Thailand, it’s best to buy here even if it is 10% more.

Please correct me if I have screwed up my comparisons or calculations.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

