Car Gallery at Siam Paragon

Car Gallery at Siam Paragon

It’s on the third floor of the upscale shopping centre in Bangkok. It seems to be a permanent exhibition of some of the most expensive cars sold in Thailand. When I visited there were:

  • Lamborghini Gallardo (above)
  • Lotus Exige
  • Jaguar XF
  • Porsche Cayman and Boxster
  • Citroen C6
  • Hummer H3
  • BMW 3, 5 & 7-Series plus a Z4

There was a sign that Aston Martin was there too but no more.

There are displayed in units that would otherwise be shops and the lighting is very varied. For some like the C6 and the Hummer it’s hard to take a good picture. Or, should I say, a challenge.

There were not many visitors when I looked around on a weekday afternoon. Each mini-showroom had a single staff member who was clearly bored. And the visitors were all photographers like me. A Japanese tourist asked me to take his photo next to the Boxster. But unlike my Victory Monument friend he was a perfectionist and asked me to take the photo again with flash.

The lighting varied and produced some very strange colour casts. My Nikon Coolpix P6000 did not deal with them very well and I had to try to fix it in Lightroom and Photoshop.

The hardest example was the Lotus Exige where the camera reproduced some, but not all of the yellow stripes on the car as bright orange.

Car Gallery at Siam Paragon

The Citroen C8 was so badly lit that I could not get an in-focus picture without using flash – and with the simple in-camera flash there were so many reflections that the picture was unusable.

I took one picture of the fronts of each of the BMWs on display and combined them into one: “The Faces of BMW 2009”. I am interested how BMW make subtle changes to their designs that keep both a family appearance and also something distinctive for each line of vehicles within the brand.
The Faces of BMW 2009
The sticker on the BMW Z4 listed the price as 4,599,000฿. That is US$137,281 or 93,384 Euro according to Oanda.com.
Finally, there was a model of a Porsche Super farm tractor in display. I had no idea they made farm tractors in the 1950s.
Car Gallery at Siam Paragon

I understand they rotate the cars from time to time. So it is worth going back in a few weeks.

Tags: ,

3 Responses to “Car Gallery at Siam Paragon”

  1. BKKPhotographer Says:

    I posted some more pictures on Picasa Web at http://picasaweb.google.com/the.bangkok.photographer/20090924#

    They’ll be there for about a month before I have to delete them to make space for more.

  2. hkkbs Says:

    Amazing what you can find in BKK!

Leave a Reply

