Canon EOS 7D in Thailand

Canon EOS 7D Hands-on Preview: Digital Photography Review.

Canon EOS-7D Front

This may be my next camera to replace my Canon EOS-30D. I’d like to read the full review by Dpreview.com but everything they say in this preview looks impressive.

I like the brighter viewfinder and the customization options. At last we have a camera that can shoot RAW continuously and at 8fps.

Unlike with a full frame sensor camera like the EOS-5D, I think my existing lenses will be adequate with it. It supports EF-S, but I only have one EF-S lens.

Like all Canon cameras, it supports the sRGB and Adobe RGB colour spaces. I wonder when (if) cameras will move to support ProPhoto RGB. I don’t think it matters if you shoot in RAW, but for people who shoot JPEG don’t I lose something even if I use Adobe RGB? I understood from Lightroom that it is best to use ProPhoto RGB all the way through your workflow.

It does not have integrated GPS. You have to connect a GPS unit via the extra cost WFT-E5 Wireless File Transmitter. I wonder when Canon will take GPS seriously.

The US list price for the body only is $1,699 + tax of course.

That is about 57,436 Baht according to the currency converter at OANDA.com. However, electronics always cost more in Thailand. I don’t think I would see much change out of 65,000B or 70,000B here.

I went to the Canon Thailand web site (English version) to see if it is available here yet. Amazingly I got an error

503 Service Unavailable

No server is available to handle this request.

I don’t know exactly what this means. So I don’t know.

Tags: ,

6 Responses to “Canon EOS 7D in Thailand”

  1. bkkphotographer Says:

    I looked at Fortune Mall this afternoon but did not see the EOS-7D on sale. The EOS-50D is available.

  2. Camera Prices in Thailand « Bkkphotographer's Blog Says:

    […] I asked about the Canon EOS-7D. EC Mall did not know when it would be available here through Canon […]

  3. BKKPhotographer Says:

    Michael Willems reports on his blog at http://blog.michaelwillems.ca/2009/10/04/7d-post-two/ that neither Lightroom 2.5 nor Adobe Camera Raw support the camera yet.

    You would have thought …

  4. BKKPhotographer Says:

    Looks like Canon is launching the 7D at Photomarathon Thailand today, 17th October.

    See http://www.canon-asia.com/photomarathon2009/thailand/en/index.html

    The marathon is only open to Thai nationals or I would have entered. It looks like fun.

    I may go along to Central World and take a look anyway.

  5. BKKPhotographer Says:

    The 7D is now featured on the Canon Thailand web site: http://www.canon.co.th/p/EN/164-Digital-Cameras/569-EOS/1278-EOS-7D/

    There is a Canon Asia micro site for the 7D at http://www.canon-asia.com/eos7d/

Leave a Reply

