Flight of Three

Royal Thai Air Force Bell 412 Helicopters

A flight of three Royal Thai Air Force Bell 412 Twin Huey helicopters flew past the apartment this morning. I keep my Canon EOS-30D camera ready with the 75-300mm lens to take such shots.

I took this one on shutter priority at 1/250 second and 200ASA. I didn’t use Action Mode as that uses a much faster shutter speed / 400ASA and it doesn’t show the motion of the rotor blades. They rotate comparatively slowly in a cruise.

I also like to use spot metering to optimize the exposure for the helicopter rather than the bright sky. Canon’s Action Mode does not give you any choice.

This is not as sharp as I would like. Next time helicopters pass I’ll try 1/320 and see if I get a better result.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

