River Trip

Wat Arun in Silhouette

I like this picture of Wat Arun across the Chao Phraya River, taken just before it started to rain on Saturday afternoon.

I hid in the very good riverside cafe next to the Aurum Hotel when it looked like it was going to rain hard. Good that I did – there was a severe thunderstorm. The commercial river traffic kept going but the Chao Phraya Express ferries were pretty empty.

Finally I gave up waiting and got a taxi to Hua Lamphong Station: the nearest subway station. Unfortunately many of the taxi drivers anywhere in the Rattanakosin Island area are crooks. I had to be very firm that he turned the meter on and did not take me to and jewel shops. Mai pen rai.

I posted a few photos to Flickr and many more to Picasa Web.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

