Tagging is Pointless

In WordPress that is.

Lightroom calls them keywords, WordPress calls them tags, but they are the same thing: values applied to information (with no type).

What I mean is that WordPress has a good full-text search feature so if your blog posts are mostly text it will find any post with a term whether it is a Tag or not.

I can’t see any point in adding Tags to my posts. I don’t think it makes them any easier to find.

Of course pictures in Lightroom are not so easy to search. It would so great if Lightroom could ‘recognize’ a Hino AK bus or a Boeing 747 in a picture as I can. Then I could throw all my keywords away. There has been work done on image recognition but isn’t in Lightroom yet.

I wonder if they are something that search engines look for? No – that’s too easy to game. The search engines favour content over probably-manipulated metadata.

Somebody tell me I am wrong!

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Tagging is Pointless”

  1. bkkphotographer Says:

    I am still adding tags to my posts out of habit.

  2. BKKPhotographer Says:

    I found out that tagging is not pointless! It’s got a different purpose in WordPress.

    If you click on a tag it takes you to a page of words about that subject. For example clicking on “Bangkok” takes you to http://en.wordpress.com/tag/bangkok/

    Actually it seems to be “blog posts about Bangkok”. WordPress seems to use the term Blog for both the container and what I call a post.

Leave a Reply

