EveryTrail Drawback

I had a shock when I looked at my trips on Every Trail. One of them was missing its pictures!

I worked out what happened. I imported the pictures from my account on Picasa Web. But I had to delete them from Picasa Web when I ran out of space. I took the word “import” to mean that Every Trail copies the pictures to its server. But no, it is only a link. So if the pictures disappear from Picasa Web the Every Trail trip loses them.

It makes economic sense for Every Trail to do this: let Google pay for the image storage. I did not see any warnings about this and Every Trail shows the trip with the little “link broken” icons where the pictures should be.

That’s a disappointment.

Leave a Reply

