Lost on the Streets of Bang Rak

I read an interesting article in the Bangkok Post online about the Bangkok Folk Museum so on Tuesday afternoon I set out to find it.

I started from Sam Yan Subway Station and walked down Si Phraya Road. Not because it was the shortest route, but I had not walked that way before. I like the older areas of the city away from the tourist routes.

Si Phraya Road was not very interesting and to make matters worse I could not find the museum! Grrr. I followed a directional sign but it did not seem to lead anywhere. I am not the best navigator (and knowing my precise lat/long on the Nikon Coolpix P6000 is no help) so I may have missed it.

I documented the trip on Every Trail here since it was fairly interesting it its own right. See Bangkok Si Phraya to Charoen Krung at EveryTrail.

Map created by EveryTrail: Share GPS Tracks.

One of the most interesting sights was this banyan tree (?) uprooting the wall of a school on Si Phraya Road. The tree is inhabited with spirits so the Thai people believe it should not be cut down.

Banyan Tree Uprooting a Wall

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

