I Don’t Understand Google

Does anybody?

What I mean is that many of the web searches that come to this blog are for the Nikon Coolpix P7000. I know nothing about this camera. All I did was link to the page on nikonrumors.com and hardly added any information.

Yet my post comes ABOVE nikonrumors.com in the Google listing. The top choice is link farm in the Philippines. Second is another Nikon related site. I am third!

I think this shows the limitations of Google’s automated system. A human would detect the link farm and the fact that my blog merely reports facts posted elsewhere.

Google isn’t intelligent. Not even close.

If I look tomorrow it will probably have changed.

While I am thinking of Google I forgot to mention that whatever I alter in my Google account my Google searches always go to google.co.th in the Thai language rather than Google.com in English. It’s trying to be clever and failing. I want English!

For that reason I have set my default search engine to yahoo.co.uk. Yahoo does not try to second-guess me.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

