Photo hobbyists snapping up more business

Photo hobbyists snapping up more business.

A Flickr friend pointed out this article in the San Francisco Chronicle. I have had many requests to use my pictures on Flickr but no one has offered me any money. I am pleased they had the courtesy to ask and give permission freely.

Looking at it another way I’m taking money out of the pockets of photo journalists and professional photographers. But again that’s the nature of capitalism. Many are willing to use a stock photo or a Flickr ‘snapshot’ rather than pay for a professional. My picture may be only 80% as good as a professional’s, but for web use it is probably fine.

I wish I could work out how to market my work without the hassles of Shutterstock or similar agencies.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

