Out and About Again

The Bangkok weather was kinder to me on Tuesday. The rain held off until the evening. I was able to take a long (over 10km) walk around Bangkok. The trip is on EveryTrail at

Bangkok Bobae Market – Rattanakosin at EveryTrail

Map created by EveryTrail: Travel Community.

EveryTrail Map 2009-09-09

EveryTrail Map 2009-09-09

It was a very long walk. Unlike San Francisco where I used to live Bangkok is very flat, so there’s only the traffic and the pollution to deal with. People are invariably very friendly, particularly outside the tourist areas.

Mothers will point out the farang to their kids and see if they’ve learned to say “Hello!” at school. A motorcycle taxi driver offered me some M-150 (a highly caffeinated beverage) and passing bus drivers waved when I snapped their vehicles. It’s amazing compared with the average Western city.

I can walk in Bangkok almost indefinitely if I have comfortable shoes and stops for water every 30 minutes or so. I have also taken a liking to Meiji brand coffee milk.

The only limit on my range is the two batteries I have for the Nikon Coolpix P6000.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

