ScanGear in Thai

This is why I cannot de-screen the pictures I scan from books and magazines. The user interface for my Canon MP610 all-in-one scanner / printer is in Thai and I do not know how to change it.

ScanGear User Interface in Thai

ScanGear User Interface in Thai

I purchased my old Sony laptop and it was, of course, all English Windows XP. I purchased the printer in Thailand, but when I installed the software everything came up in English. No problem.

When I received the new Compaq Presario CQ40 it had the Thai version of Windows XP. I set everything up so the user interface is in English (United Kingdom).

Windows XP Regional & Language Options

Windows XP Regional & Language Options

When I installed Canon’s software it came up in Thai without asking me what I wanted. I found how how to change the language for the printer driver.

How to Change the User Interface Language

How to Change the User Interface Language

I have not found anywhere I can change it for the scanner. Canon licensed Scan Gear from another company.

There’s another tool called WIA that is English. But it is so simple that I don’t think it supports de-screening.

WIA Canon MP610

WIA Canon MP610

Note: there are ways of de-screening pictures in “post” using Photoshop. I was too lazy to research them when I scanned the Fortune Magazine article.

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “ScanGear in Thai”

  1. BKKPhotographer Says:

    See https://bkkphotographer.wordpress.com/2009/08/31/descreening-in-photoshop/ where I did an experiment on Photoshop de-screening.

  2. Canon MP610 Printer Problem « Bkkphotographer's Blog Says:

    […] for the on-screen manual on my laptop. Of course it was in Thai due to the problem I wrote about here. The installation software assumed that as my computer is in Thailand I wanted Thai-language […]

Leave a Reply

