A great way to use graduated filters for spectacular horizons | PresetsHeaven

A great way to use graduated filters for spectacular horizons | PresetsHeaven.

I found a web site that offers free Lightroom Presets – presetsheaven.com. It’s a good reminder to me that I know almost zero about Lightroom’s unique Develop features like graduated filters.

This preset that uses graduated filters to enhance landscapes where the sky needs different treatment from the land seemed very useful to me. I have the wonderful views from the apartment window to play with.

But I could not get it to work properly. Not because it is at fault but because I don’t understand the concepts behind graduated filters.

I need to get back to learning more about Lightroom and stop focusing so muchon the database.

I’ll use Chris Orwig’s Lightroom 2 Training and hope he doesn’t drop his camera in the water.

Lightroom Graduated Horizon - Before

Lightroom Graduated Horizon - Before

Lightroom Graduated Horizon - After

Lightroom Graduated Horizon - After

As Manuel used to say on Fawlty Towers: ‘I learn! I learn!’.

Tags: ,

One Response to “A great way to use graduated filters for spectacular horizons | PresetsHeaven”

  1. BKKPhotographer Says:

    I raced through Chris Orwig’s remaining lessons on the Library Module – stuff like filtering and integration with Photoshop.

    There was some interesting material on making panoramas that I didn’t know before – but I need to get his Photoshop Creative Techniques training to understand what he was saying. He speaks so fast it can be hard to follow – and I’m a native English speaker.

    I don’t know why he needs to rush through the lessons. The incremental cost of spending half a minute more on a topic is surely minimal when it is a movie of a screen with a voice over. It’s not like he has high production costs. If he’d just SLOW DOWN it would be a lot easier to assimilate.

Leave a Reply

