Wikipedia Will Limit Changes on Articles About Living People – NYTimes.com

Wikipedia Will Limit Changes on Articles About Living People – NYTimes.com.

Wikipedia Logo

Wikipedia Logo

This is a tough one. If everybody had good intentions then it would not be necessary. Unfortunately in the real world that is not true. Malicious or careless editing can do immense harm.

But isn’t it the thin end of a wedge? What about recently dead people like Michael Jackson? Don’t malicious edits of his entry cause great pain to his family and friends? I can see how it was a hard decision to reach and reasonable people can differ on the right answer. I would not like to be in the position of deciding a policy like this.

I have been a passive consumer of Wikipedia content for years but I have never contributed. I have looked at it but it seems very complex. It would take a major investment of time to do it well and I don’t know if I have any special expertise.

But I did make myself a Wikipedia account last night. I am “bkkphotographer”. My user page is here and my user talk page is here.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

