Space Invader on Silom Road, Bangkok



Space Invader on Silom Road, Bangkok

Originally uploaded by Ian Fuller

Most of the time I do not look up and see my Bangkok surroundings above eye level. My excuse is that the pavement / sidewalk is so uneven that safety is my number one priority.

But here I glimpsed a tiled image of a space invader on an old building in Silom. I had no idea what it was but a Flickr friend pointed me at http://www.space-invaders.com/.

It looks like the artist visited Bangkok in 2005. This may be one of the few of his works that remain. He posted seven pictures on his site but it implied that he created 50 little tiled images. This one is not amongst them.

Have you seen more Space Invaders in Bangkok?

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Space Invader on Silom Road, Bangkok”

  1. Denis Says:

    > Have you seen more Space Invaders in Bangkok?

    Yes !

    I found some when i was there in april 2008 around KSR, Sukhumvit, Silom, Siam Square, etc… You can see them here :

    Space Invader BKG_48 - Victory Monument (Deleted)

    and remember : protect them all 😉

  2. BKKPhotographer Says:

    Excellent!

    This is a project for me to do. Since you have geotagged all your photos I should take a map with me when I go out and see if they are still there 18 months later.

    Thanks. Ian.

Leave a Reply

