The Big Draw of a GPS Run – NYTimes.com

The Big Draw of a GPS Run – NYTimes.com.

I have been plotting maps of my travels on Picasa Web using the geotagged photos from my Nikon Coolpix P6000 and geotags that I added to pictures I took with other cameras.

For example, here is a map of a walk I took around Benchasiri Park in Bangkok.

PicasaWeb Map 2009-08-03 2

There’s a lake in the middle of the park but the Google Map does not show it.

I never thought of planning a route as a piece of art and then “drawing” it with my pictures such as is described in this article. It’s a nice idea, although I’d probably end up under a tuk-tuk or falling into a canal as I tried to follow my planned route precisely.

I looked at the site EveryTrail that is mentioned in the article. I was thinking of plotting my trip from Bangkok to Mahachai, Samut Prakan by train. I noted that they only have one Thailand train trip in their library. Wow, something new I can play with!

However …

EveryTrail’s assumption is that you have a tracklog file produced by a portable GPS unit. I don’t know the details but I think it is fundamentally a text file that includes a date / time and a lat/long pair.

With EveryTrail you import the tracklog and they plot it on a map for you. Then you can add photos later.

But I don’t have a tracklog, I just have the geotagged photos. Thus it’s hard for me to use EveryTrail. They give users a third option of plotting the route by hand, but where’s the fun in that?

It would be great if the Nikon Coolpix P6000 produced a tracklog. It only tells you where you are when you take a picture. GPS units produce tracklog entries continuously. That’s how the PhotoTrakr works.

Now, if the Nikon Coolpix P6000 was an open system, perhaps running Android, then I could get an app that enhances the camera’s functionality. But no, the Nikon is a closed system so that isn’t an option. Annoying.

The other approach is to make a tracklog from a set of geotagged photos in Lightroom.

I can use the LR/Transporter addin to process a set of files and write a summary file with the GPS information. It does not understand Jeff Friedl’s shadow GPS data, but it’s an Export plugin. Thus I can use Jeff’s “GPS Injector” to put the data into the file for LR/Transporter to extract.

Then I have to use a couple of utilities to get the file into a format that EveryTrail understands. I am experimenting with a utility called “GPS Utility” that will read a CSV file and export a file in GPX interchange format.

Then I can import that to EveryTrail and Bob’s your uncle!

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “The Big Draw of a GPS Run – NYTimes.com”

  1. A Walk in the Park « Bkkphotographer's Blog Says:

    […] the trip I described here – a walk around Benchasiri Park in central […]

  2. Geotagged Photos to EveryTrail (2) « Bkkphotographer's Blog Says:

    […] method of getting geotags from my photos into a form that EveryTrail accepts. See here for why I need to do […]

Leave a Reply

