That Was Easy! But …

New Drive

New Drive

I copied my 2008 pictures to the new drive “Silom”. Then it was easy to point Lightroom at the new drive. The designers obviously anticipated this scenario.

Of course I still see the annoying way that Seagate markets the drive as 320GB but Windows tells me that its capacity is 298GB. That’s almost 7% less than the package claims. It’s always the way with disk drives. I am surprised they still get away with it.

Of course Seagate put weasel words on the bottom of the package in small type:

When referring to hard drive capacity one gigabyte, or GB, equals one billion bytes and one terabyte, or TB, equals one thousand billion bytes. Your computer’s operating system may use a different standard of measurement and have a lower capacity. In addition, some of the listed capacity is used for formatting and other functions, and thus will not be available for data storage.

It’s always lower isn’t it?

Yes, in computer science, one kilobyte = 1,024 bytes, one gigabyte = one million kilobytes. So 320,000,000 bytes = 291 operating system GB: so I am actually 8 computer GB ahead.

The capacity shown by Windows is for a TrueCrypt encrypted volume. I don’t know if that makes a difference.

Surely all operating systems use the 1,024 standard so why don’t the drive makers get in line? Consumers are not stupid and we dislike being talked down to like this.

I am now copying my 2009 photos from the old drive to the new (where they are a backup of the files on my PC’s hard drive. See here.) Both drives are TrueCrypt encrypted so the software has to decrypt according to the old drive’s keys and re-encrypt according to the new one’s. Thus it is calculated to take about four hours. I hope I do not have to do this again soon.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

