Digital art: Woven

http://planetcity1.wordpress.com/2009/08/10/digital-art-woven/

This beautiful piece of “digital art” caught my eye. The preview looks impressive enough, but look at the larger size on Flickr here.

I don’t think of myself as creative or artistic. But this has inspired me to try something new. There are so many interesting shapes, colours and textures here in Thailand that I could use as a starting point. My first thought was tropical fruit like the rambutan.

Rambutan

You can’t make up colours and shapes like that!

Tags: ,

5 Responses to “Digital art: Woven”

  1. 47whitebuffalo Says:

    So, let’s see what ya got there in Thailand. Hmm? what about it? “We’re” waiting.
    Hi.
    Why don’t you think of yourself as creative or an artist? You photograph and seem interested in art in general so INDULGE your creative inclinations!

  2. bkkphotographer Says:

    That’s certainly a challenge!

    I know me and I know how my mind works: linear, logical, step-by-step. I have never been good at the original insights it takes to create something like you made.

    I have not studied this but I believe that some skills can be learned but others, like composing music or creating art, require an innate ability that can’t be taught. Teaching can enhance the natural talent, but i don’t think we know how to create it.

    Having said that, we all have talents we don’t know of and it is never too late to something new.

    So on a free afternoon I’ll try something I have not attempted before.

    Thanks for the inspiration!

    Ian

  3. planetcity1 Says:

    Ian, do try this, as the digital process allows you to create a piece step-by-step, without first having to visualize the end result.

    Here’s the addy for the kaleidoscope filter I use:
    http://www.mehdiplugins.com/english/kaleidoscope.htm

    Just start with a random photo to begin with, and play with the filters — move the sliders this way and that until you get a look that interests you.

    I usually do a screen save for the bits I like and add them to Paint, where I do a save. I then continue playing with the filters and sliders in Photoshop. Don’t like what you’re seeing??? — under edit, hit either undo or step backward to get back to the point from which you started.

    [To mix things up, I also add things to Picnik, which is an online photo editor with some different filters, and also play with the features there.]

    When you have a bit of down time, just open up a copy of a photo and play…I think you’ll be pleased with the pieces you create.

  4. bkkphotographer Says:

    I am downloading the Kaleidoscope filter now. I have not looked into the range of third-party Photoshop filters before. Definitely needs some attention.

    Thanks again for the inspiration!

  5. Digital Art – Mehdi’s Photoshop Plugins « Bkkphotographer's Blog Says:

    […] creating some Digital Art of my own after I waxed enthusiastic about her “Woven” art here. I protested that I am not particularly creative or artistic, but I agreed to “have a […]

Leave a Reply

