Google Lookup Limit?

I didn’t notice this comment in Jeff Friedl’s Lightroom Geocoding plugin before.

He says Google sets a limit on the number of reverse geocode queries a user can send in a day. I didn’t know that. I did not even know I need to sign in to use it.

Lightroom Bulk Reverse Geocode

It’s understandable to have a limit. I can envisage people abusing the service, maybe for commercial use. Google has an incredibly powerful infrastructure but they don’t make a satang off users doing things like this. There’s no way they can show me ads. Maybe they collect data on the places I am interested in and find value in that.

The limit must be generous. I sent thousands of requests to Google from Lightroom yesterday when I was trying to reproduce the glitch. I suppose Jeff’s code catches that error.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

