Unfriendly Lightroom

I was adding yet another keyword to my Lightroom catalog this evening and inadvertently typed one too many commas in the Synonym text entry box:

An extra comma

An extra comma

When I clicked on “Create” Lightroom gave me an error (labeled a Warning) that only a programmer could have created:

Lightroom Warning Non-Empty Name

What’s a photographer meant to make of that?

Of course I’m a Computer Scientist, so I know these things. The engineer who wrote the code to validate the new keyword parsed the Synonyms and found two consecutive delimiters (the CS word for a comma). That’s the error message she chose to display. She probably wrote compilers before she got the job with Adobe.

I’m surprised a Human Factors engineer didn’t catch it and ask her to do something more user friendly. For example, she could silently discard the extra comma. I can always edit the tag later. Or if that’s anathema then she could tell me what is wrong in Plain English and offer to a) correct the error by removing the extra comma or b) sending me back to do it myself.

At least she didn’t label the error dialog box “Syntax Error”.

It’s a tiny point, but I am waiting for pictures to upload to Picassa Web. While I was waiting I was adding some new car models to my keyword list in the hope I’ll see them some day in Thailand.

Tags: , ,

One Response to “Unfriendly Lightroom”

  1. Unusual Lightroom Error « Bkkphotographer's Blog Says:

    […] the “A non-empty name must be provided” error I got last week, this error must have been through Human Factors who came up with […]

Leave a Reply

