Jeff Fixed It

Jeff Friedl produced a fix for the problems I and others were having with “Reverse Geocoding” pictures in Lightroom in record time. I wrote about it here.

Lightroom New Geoencoding Plugin Available

Lightroom New Geoencoding Plugin Available

I downloaded it and tested it by reverse geocoding all my August pictures that I had not been able to do previously.

It worked fine on 581 pictures. At picture #215 though, it produced a dialog box:

Lightroom Confirm Geocoding

Lightroom Confirm Geocoding

I pressed Continue and it processed the rest without another alert.

I guess that there was a problem with the plugin communicating with Google Earth. It must be sending a load of short transactions (although he optimizes that by remembering what he’s sent already) and transactions on the internet aren’t guaranteed.

I sent him a Thank You message on his blog and mentioned this. Yesterday it was showing this dialog box for every picture in addition to the syntax error I posted.

Jeff is amazing.

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Jeff Fixed It”

  1. GB-in-TH Says:

    Of course I cannot reproduce the error dialog box. I tried reverse geocoding a couple of thousand pictures and it didn’t fail once. Typical: Alpha Particles.

  2. Google Lookup Limit? « Bkkphotographer's Blog Says:

    […] I sent thousands of requests to Google from Lightroom yesterday when I was trying to reproduce the glitch. I suppose Jeff’s code catches that […]

Leave a Reply

