How Powerful was the Apollo 11 Computer?

http://www.downloadsquad.com/2009/07/20/how-powerful-was-the-apollo-11-computer/

Apollo 11 AGC

Apollo 11 AGC

Absolutely zero to do with photography or Bangkok – but I thought this article was fascinating.

Are there any assembler programmers left? I’d like to read more about the engineers who designed the AGC hardware and programmed it. I hope someone interviews them for the history books (history blogs?) before they pass on.

And I thought my job was stressful when I had to demo my code for HP Executives or major accounts. These engineers (in the true and highest sense of the world) had the whole world watching them and lives at stake.

There’s a great comment on the post:

Their computer took them to the moon and back.
My desktop skips and freezes trying to watch video of the moon landing.

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “How Powerful was the Apollo 11 Computer?”

  1. sukiho Says:

    If you haven’t seen this documentary you might enjoy it

  2. BKKPhotographer Says:

    Thanks a lot!

Leave a Reply

