I Agree

See this post from The Photo Geek on why it makes economic sense to use Adobe Photoshop Elements rather than the full Photoshop for external editing from Lightroom.

I’m a fairly competent Photoshop user but I do not think I use many of the features that are only in the full product. I occasionally use the pen tool but I am not skilled with it. I have played with HDR but that’s not worth the extra money.

And as the author says, you can apply the savings to a new lens or other gadget that you’ll use far more.

I’d love to be a fly on the wall when the Photoshop and Elements product managers meet to discuss what seeps from the full product to Elements.

I wonder what overall is most profitable to Adobe? Photoshop has the price premium but lower volume. Elements has high volume. Maybe Adobe sets the prices so the revenue’s about the same but Elements leverages so much from its big brother that the overhead must be lower.

Ah the challenges of working in a mature software company!

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

