Where I Went Last Weekend

I thought I’d try publishing the photo maps from my account on Picasa Web. They show where the pictures I uploaded were taken.

Here’s the one from Saturday, 18th July when I went by car from Bangkok to Sa Kaeo. I was able to get a good GPS fix from the front seat of the taxi so the route is complete.

Click to see the album on PicasaWeb

Click to see the album on PicasaWeb

I returned to Bangkok on Sunday, 19th July. This time I was in the front seat of an Isuzu DMax light truck. The Nikon Coolpix P6000 could not keep a GPS connection so I only took a few pictures en route.

I think it is because of the design of the truck cab: I was further away from the windscreen. GPS signals seem to be able to penetrate auto glass but not a steel roof.

Click to see the album on Picasa Web

Click to see the album on Picasa Web

Tags: ,

3 Responses to “Where I Went Last Weekend”

  1. hkkbs Says:

    I also tried to use my SIRF III chip GPS in a particular car in Thailand. In this case a Nissan car. Almost impossible! Maybe from car electronics interference or metallic film (sunprotection) windows of car?

  2. hkkbs Says:

    By the way: it seems like a nice trip you had!

  3. GB-in-TH Says:

    Any kind of metal affects the GPS signal strength hugely. I wish my phone had a socket for an external aerial I could use in a vehicle.

    Yes, it was good to get out of the city. But even nicer to come home.

Leave a Reply

