Don’t Photograph the Steam Roller

Pathumwan Institute of Technology

Originally uploaded by Ian Fuller

Further to my post about photography bans in Thailand: these guys did not want me to take pictures of their steam roller. It was displayed outside the Pathumwan Institute of Technology on Rama I Road.

It’s a lovely old French built Albaret from the 1920s. I have some pictures of it at http://www.flickr.com/photos/ianfuller/

The young men had no id or uniforms, so no authority. I firmly told them to go away. I thought it was funny. Maybe the roller is a disguised secret weapon.

Tags:

2 Responses to “Don’t Photograph the Steam Roller”

  1. GB-in-TH Says:

    I’ve read since that the students at vocational schools like this are very territorial. There have been many fights between students at rival schools.

    I think what happened is that these students were protecting their school against what they saw as an intruder. Just as if I’d been someone from another school. I was lucky that 20 of them didn’t show up to beat me up.

    Other schools and universities are not a problem in Thailand. I have happily and safely visited several universities and schools and felt welcome. But I believe these schools are famous for their ‘us v them’ culture.

  2. I’m a Photographer Not a Terrorist! « Bkkphotographer's Blog Says:

    […] “no photography” signs in Bangkok I have not had any issues with photography beyond the trivial. Certainly no involvement from the police. One of the many reasons I love Thailand is that they are […]

Leave a Reply

