Adobe DNG 1.3 Specification

Here’s an interesting blog entry on dpreview.com about the new Adobe DNG 1.3 specification: Unless otherwise specified: DNG gains lens corrections.

Dpreview doesn’t speculate about the background to all this and Adobe Senior Product Manager Tom Hogarty is of course too professional and reticent to comment.

Put in very simple terms Adobe want camera manufacturers to support DNG fully. The camera manufacturers want to keep proprietary advantage. I think only a company as influential as Adobe has any hope of breaking this open: not a job for a start-up. I should have learned that lesson in my Silicon Valley start-up days.

Adobe want to be able to apply the same sophisticated corrections and adjustments to a DNG file that the camera makers do in their own software with the proprietary Raw format. I have used Canon’s Digital Photo Professional (DPP) and my pre-Lightroom days tended to prefer it for certain operations. Now I bypass DPP entirely and never look at the Raw file. I’m trusting Adobe to do a perfect job rendering the DNG file – so I should be able to do anything in Lightroom + Photoshop that I can do in DPP.

In another entry I want to discuss what I think I lost making the “all Adobe” choice – Canon’s Picture Styles.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

