River Trip

Click to enlarge

Click to enlarge

I had some free time today so I decided to take a trip on the Chao Phraya River. I took a boat from Central Pier (Saphan Taksin Skytrain Station) to Siriraj Hospital then walked to the old Thonburi Train Station.

I was just in time for the 1:55pm departure to Nam Tok. Everyone thought I was there to catch the train. No – just taking pictures. Farangs do strange things.

I also had a look around the loco sheds. Wow they have some old stuff still around. It’s like stepping back to the late 1960s in England.

I had to wait at the station as it started to rain. Then I walked back to the Railway Station pier, took a cross-river ferry to Maharaj Pier (3B) and then the Chao Phraya Express back to Central.

The geotagged map of my journey is above. The bulk of the photos are on Picasa Web here. But the “best” are on Flickr here.

Don’t bother with the Picasa Web photos unless you are interested in pictures of vehicles.

The weather was cold and grey – it reminded me of England although warmer. I tried setting the Nikon Coolpix P6000 to use “Cloudy” white balance but I didn’t like the results. So for the Flickr images I toned them all down. I think it gives an impression for the low-contrast feel of the place on such a dull day.

The river was quite choppy and some of the tourists were looking a bit green around the gills. I loved it, although I had to be careful to keep the camera dry. Some of the pictures suffered from a spot of water on the lens that I did not notice until later. Grrr.

There are so many places to visit in Bangkok I will never be bored.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

