Excellent Long Exposure

Sukhumvit Road (Nana)

Originally uploaded by Mike LaPalme

Mike La Palme posted this excellent long exposure and several others to Flickr. It’s taken from the footbridge over Sukhumvit Road near Soi 7.

I have tried this myself but have not had nearly his success in creating a compelling shot. This inspires me to get my tripod out and try again.

I’ll stand somewhere else so as not to be a copycat. The Rachaprasong intersection springs to mind. Maybe it should not be too crowded with traffic or the car lamps will merge into a mess rather than an identifiable set of tracks.

I see from the photo data he used the standard kit lens with the Canon EOS-40D. No need for these expensive L lenses!

Camera:
Canon EOS 40D
Exposure:
20
Aperture:
f/22.0
Focal Length:
17 mm
Exposure:
-0.76
ISO Speed:
100
Exposure Bias:
0 EV

I don’t know what the second “Exposure” entry means” -0.76?

Tags:

2 Responses to “Excellent Long Exposure”

  1. Michael LaPalme Says:

    I think the second exposure value refers to adjustments made in Lightroom. This image was a little tricky as I did not have my tripod with me and there was the bright city street light shining directly into my sensor. I should have used a smaller aperture but wanted to get the light trails from the passing traffic. Since I didn’t have my tripod I was forced to rest my dslr on whatever flattish surface there was around that footbridge. There isn’t that much to be honest and I had to settle for the pov you see here. I normally take my tripod with me but I was meeting friends for dinner around Sukhumvit and did not want to lug it around. That particular foot bridge has lots of beggars and I had a bunch of small street urchins following me around and trying to grab my camera while I was exposing. God bless them… I plan on returning with my trusty manfrotto soon and getting some proper shots…

    Ratchaprasong is also a great place for long exosures. These were also shot without a tripod which makes it very challenging to get the camera in focus.

  2. GB-in-TH Says:

    Well, I think it worked great! I remember admiring shots like that in National Geographic when I was a kid and have always liked the style.

    Maybe I’ll skip the tripod too but wear running shoes for when one of the little so-and-sos grabs the camera 🙂

Leave a Reply

