Lightroom 2.4 Update

I updated my Lightroom to version 2.4 today. The download is 135MB. I left it to run last night after I completed my backups. It took the best part of an hour to download.

Again, I wish Adobe would make their updates smaller. I think this is the entire product. I’m sure in San Jose, California everyone has a fast connection. But they are serving an international market and not everyone is so fortunate.

I compacted and backed up my database before running the install for 2.4. Everything went smoothly. It installs in a new directory for 2.4 and silently uninstalls the prior version. I think that’s a bit rude but it is simple. I don’t know if it is possible to revert to 2.3 in the case of problems. Does it alter the database schema?

wpid360-Lightroom-2.4-Installation-Completed.jpg

Installation complete dialogue box

I was worried that my add-ins would not work with 2.4. I have had that problem with Mozilla Firefox updates. But so-far-so-good – I have not had any problems.

I had to do a photoshoot for a friend immediately after completing the update. That’s the worst possible time to test new software.

But everything was fine and I tried burning a CD directly from Lightroom for the first time. (Previously I used Nero).

I discovered that CD burning is very simple (simplistic) in Lightroom but it did what I wanted. I printed a label using the Canon CD Label Print for my Canon MP610 printer and I was done. Sigh of relief!

One Response to “Lightroom 2.4 Update”

  1. Lightroom 2.5 and Camera Raw 5.5 Updates « Bkkphotographer's Blog Says:

    […] grumbles about the previous upgrades still apply. Adobe isn’t listening to […]

Leave a Reply

